About Free ITIL 4 books


How to create Mask in Figma

What is Mask in Figma?

A mask in Figma is a design element that allows you to hide or reveal parts of an object or group of objects, based on the shape of another object. This can be useful for creating interesting visual effects or for focusing the viewer's attention on a specific part of a design.

In Figma, you can create a mask by selecting an object or group of objects and applying a mask shape over them. The mask shape must completely cover the object(s) you want to mask and can be any shape you want, such as a rectangle, circle, or custom shape. Once the mask is applied, only the parts of the object(s) that fall within the mask shape will be visible, while everything outside of it will be hidden.

Masks in Figma are non-destructive, meaning that you can always go back and edit the mask shape or the object(s) being masked without permanently altering any of the underlying design elements. This allows for more flexibility in the design process and makes it easier to experiment with different visual effects.

Overall, masks in Figma are a powerful design tool that can help you create more dynamic and engaging designs. Whether you're using masks to highlight certain design elements or to create unique visual effects, they can be a valuable addition to your design toolkit.

Mask in Figma

6 steps to create Mask in Figma

To create a mask in Figma, you can follow these steps:

  1. First, select the object that you want to mask.

  2. Next, create a new shape that you want to use as the mask. This can be any shape you want, such as a rectangle or a circle.

  3. Position the mask shape over the object you want to mask, and ensure that it completely covers it.

  4. With both the object and the mask shape selected, right-click and choose "Mask with Shape" from the context menu. Alternatively, you can use the keyboard shortcut "Ctrl + Shift + M" (Windows) or "Command + Shift + M" (Mac).

  5. The object will now be masked by the shape you created. You can edit the mask shape at any time by selecting it and making changes to its size or position.

  6. To remove the mask, simply right-click on the object and choose "Remove Mask" from the context menu.

That's it! You have now created a mask in Figma.